Moving Guide

NVL CEO Serves as Presenter at Wyland Foundation Awards

04.25.2005 | News | Deidra Poltersdorf

The Wyland Foundation, headed by renowned Marine Life Artist Wyland, held its first Awards Ceremony Thursday, April 22 (Earth Day), at the Directors Guild of America in Los Angeles. The event honored the late Jacques Yves-Cousteau and Lloyd Bridges and a select group of environmental achievers from politics, science and the arts, along with 28 students who participated in the Foundation’s 1998 art and science project “The Wyland Ocean Challenge,” which reached over 100,000 school children across the nation. The Ocean Challenge was sponsored in part by National Van Lines, which provided a “portable classroom” to accompany the artist on school visits in 48 states. The Foundation is committed to “promote, respect and protect our precious ocean resources through life-size public art, education and awareness.”

The Cousteau Foundation and the widow of Lloyd Bridges accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award Eco-Ocean Pioneer Award, respectively. Other recipients included: Kofi Annan (World Leader-Ocean Conservation Award/ UN Secretary General); Al Gore (Environmental Policies Award); Ted Danson (Clean Oceans Award/ Co-founder of American Oceans Campaign/ TV Star – Cheers, Becker); Sting (Eco Artist Award/ Singer-Songwriter); Senator Daniel Inouye (Pacific Ocean Conservation Award/ Hawaii Senator); Senator Carl Levin (Great Lakes Conservation Award/ Michigan Senator); Dan Fogelberg (Eco Artist Award/ Singer-Songwriter); Jimmy Buffett (Eco Artist Award/ Founder of Save the Manatees/ Singer-Songwriter); Dr. Sylvia A. Earl (Ocean Research Award/ National Geographic Staff Writer & National Marine Sanctuary Spokesperson); Dr. Robert Ballard (Underwater Exploration Award/ Discovered the Titanic); John McConnell (Eco Pioneer Award/ Original Founder of Earth Day); Bob Hunter (Eco Pioneer Award/ Co-founder of Greenpeace); Bob Talbot (Nature Photo Award/ Renowned Marine Photographer); Dr. Roger Payne (Whale Conservation Award/ Leading Ocean Researcher); Dr. Bruce Mate (Whale Research Award/ Noted for his Antarctic Whale Studies); Joan Irvine Smith (Clean Water Conservation Award/ Leading Philanthropist); and Mandy Rodriguez (Marine Mammal Rescue Award/ President of the Dolphin Research Center).

Co-hosts Pat Morita (The Karate Kid) and Entertainment Tonight’s Julie Moran presided over a bevy of star presenters, including such representatives of Hollywood and industry as Ed Begley, Jr. (St. Elsewhere), Danica McKellar (The Wonder Years), Robert Hayes (Airplane), Sharon Lawrence (NYPD Blue), and Maureen Beal, CEO of National Van Lines.

Contact us to learn more about our various moving services and to request a free moving quote.